A Brief Message on Thanksgiving Day

To All My Wonderful Readers,

I know that I have been slow to post on this blog in the past few weeks.  It truly is that time of year again: finals.  Papers are coming due, exams are drawing near, and everything suddenly seems chaotic for a few weeks until, suddenly, it’s over.  Until then, I’ll do my best to at least get a couple of posts up–or better, to write a few in advance and schedule their postings for later-~-but I hope you’ll all bear with me as I scramble to finish everything that needs to be handed in by the end of the semester.

If anyone is reading this blog on Thanksgiving, I don’t have much of a feminist rant for you, though I do want to take a moment to say something.  Isaac Newton once said that “If I have seen further, it is because I have stood on the shoulders of giants”.  We, the modern feminist movement, stand on the shoulders of giants as we survey our world today.  Do not forget that a century ago, women in the United States did not yet have the right to vote.  Do not forget that only in recent decades has the modern sexual assault support movement arisen, to give us services such as rape crisis centers and bring about rape shield laws and the outlawing of marital rape.  Do not forget that in the 60’s, women fought hard for the right to use birth control; that in the 70’s, feminists stood up and demanded a right to choose.  Susan B. Anthony, Rosa Parks, Margaret Sanger, Eleanor Roosevelt, Hellen Kellen (particularly for the advancements she made regarding disability rights), Margaret Mead, Betty Friedan, Gloria Steinem, Maya Angelou, Sandra Day O’Connor…these women, and many others, laid the foundation that we stand on today.  If we can see further now, it is because we stand on the shoulders of giants like them, and as a movement, we should take a moment and appreciate the sacrifices they made and the battles they waged to get us to where we are today.

One more thing: feminism may tell us that as women we can be strong, smart, and independent, but it never told us that we had to do it all alone.  This Thanksgiving, take a moment to acknowledge the people in your life who have helped you get where you are.  I couldn’t be more thankful for my friends, family, and the people in-between-~-everyone I love-~-for standing by me and supporting me over the last year, and over my life.  I know that there will be many more battles to fight in the future, and I also know that just as I’ll be there to help you fight yours, I won’t be alone when I face mine…and that means more than words can say.  Thanks also to my mentors-~-to David Friedman and Kerry Schaefer for inspiring me as a teenager, and to Dr. M Newton-Francis and Dr. K Blankenship, and Ms. Lynsey Farrell, for their support and guidance throughout my college years.  Whatever happens next likely could never have happened without their help, and I’m deeply grateful.  Most of the original research discussed on this blog could never have been completed without them.  Special thanks to Alyssa F., Dorothy J., Joanna Z., Abbe R., Megan E., Shira A., and Tula B., for being there every time I have a weird feminist moment.  It wouldn’t be the same without you.

And of course, thanks to you, my readers, without whom there would be no point to this blog.  I’m grateful that you’ve stuck with me, and I can’t wait for whatever’s coming next.

~ by Randi Saunders on November 28, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
