10 Quotes About Feminism Worth Knowing

 

“Feminism is the radical idea that women are people too”-~-Cheris Kamarae and Paula Treichler

“I myself have never been able to find out precisely what a feminist is…I only know that I am called a feminist when I express sentiments that distinguish me from a doormat, or a prostitute”-~-Rebecca West

“I do not wish them [women] to have power over men, but over themselves”  ~Mary Wollstonecraft

“A woman is like a teabag: you never know how strong she is until she gets into hot water”-~-Eleanor Roosevelt

“There will never be equality until women themselves make laws and elect lawmakers”-~-Susan B Anthony

“Women’s chains have been forged by men, not by anatomy”  ~Estelle R. Ramey

“Like Broadway, the novel, and G-d, feminism has been declared dead many times”-~-Katha Pollitt

“Feminism is hated because women are hated. Anti-feminism is a direct expression of misogyny; it is the political defense of women hating”-~-Andrea Dworkin

“Feminism is an entire worldview…not just a laundry list of women’s issues”-~-Charlotte Bunch

“If you say, I’m for equal pay, that’s a reform.  But you you say, I’m a feminist, that’s a transformation of society”-~-Gloria Steinem


~ by Randi Saunders on June 8, 2012.

One Response to “10 Quotes About Feminism Worth Knowing”

  1. Great collection of quotes! There has been so much misinformation about feminism. I especially love Andrea Dworkin’s quote. Thanks for these! Empowering! -Liza Wolff-Francis, Matrifocal Point

Leave a Reply

 
