Opportunities for Activism

We at the Radical Idea have gotten numerous questions and requests for information about getting more involved, and we think that’s AWESOME.  When I published WTF Feminism 2.5, I gave a couple of suggestions for getting more involved…now I’m going to give you a longer list.

My hope is that this list will continue to grow as we discover more great organizations that people can donate to, volunteer with, work for, campaign with, etc.  This list of organizations is not even remotely comprehensive.  Many of these organizations I have been involved with, or I have friends who have been involved with them.  Unfortunately, I’ve lived on the East Coast my entire life so I may be lacking specific organizations I can talk about on the West Coast or in the Midwest, but if anyone has any suggestions, PLEASE feel free to email us at RadicalButLogical@gmail.com.

I try to name organizations that have other opportunities for people besides accepting donations, but donations are also a solid way to support organizations whose work you like.  I also try to name organizations that operate throughout the United States.  If you have questions specific to the Washington, DC area, please feel free to email me.

Though the list does not say this, if you are in college, an easy way to get involved is through your campus Women’s Initiative or your campus LGBTQ organization.

The full list and information about the organizations can be found at our new page, “Living Louder: Opportunities for Activism”.  The list includes (but is not limited to) organizations such as Equality Now, Human Rights Campaign, Planned Parenthood Federation of America, and the Feminist Majority Foundation, among others.

If you DO choose to volunteer with a feminist organization or are already doing so, please feel free to email us about your experiences.

We wish everyone all the best and hope that everyone will be out there protesting the War on Women with us this weekend!

~ by Randi Saunders on April 25, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
