Attn Readers

What does it mean to be a feminist?

I’m not actually about to tell you.

In fact, I’m hoping you’re about to tell me.

In light of recent events, the Radical Idea is looking to start a discussion on what it means to be feminist.  Now, I know there are a lot of different branches of feminism–so if you ask me, I’ll usually cite one or two that I identify or align with the most. And I’ll be clear-~-you can be a feminist but NOT be an activist (it’s like being in favor of gay marriage but not actually protesting or demonstrating or vocally advocating for it-~-you’re still a gay marriage supporter even if you’re quiet).  So you don’t have to be a loud feminist to be a feminist.

Remember, the base definition of feminism is the belief that society ought not favor men over women and that if society does, this ought be changed.

That’s a base definition.  But it doesn’t answer my question: what does it mean to be a feminist?  What does feminism mean to people who identify as feminists-~-and to people who maybe agree with some feminist ideas but DON’T identify as feminists?  What does a feminist even look like?

I’m asking you, dear readers.  What does it mean to YOU?  Write to us at RadicalButLogical@gmail.com, and give us a blurb answering those questions, and you very well might see it on The Radical Idea as part of our upcoming series “What Does It Mean to Be Feminist?”  We can’t wait to hear from you.

~ by Randi Saunders on February 5, 2012.

3 Responses to “Attn Readers”

  1. Awesome! I’m working on my response to this right now. Is there a deadline for entries?

  2. Awesome; I’m working on my response right now! Is there a deadline for entries?

Leave a Reply

 
