New Year’s Resolution

Did you know that “get fit in fitness” is the second most popular New Year’s Resolution? And “lose weight” is the third? “Help others” does not appear until ninth on the same list of most common New Year’s Resolutions. New Year’s Resolutions are supposed to be the things we want to improve on from the year before…so why are so many of us bent on improving our bodies before anything else?

There is a big difference between wanting to be healthy and wanting to be thin, and I’m all for what makes us healthy. But the truth is that obsessing over a dress size and measuring success by what the scale says isn’t healthy, it’s hurting us. And when you measure your success in the number of pounds you’ve lost, it can be difficult to feel good about yourself—you can’t just enjoy moments because you’re worried about what you’re eating and working it off, or you’re wondering if you can pull off clothes or if people will judge you. Honestly, no one wants to resolve to make themselves feel bad…

So stop. Stop right now. Switch yourself to low-fat soup and make a house rule that you will stop buying Twinkies (I know they’re tasty but come on, anything with a shelf life that long is probably not good for you), and take a deep breath.

What if, this year, we all resolved not to be prettier or skinnier, but better. Better friends. Better coworkers. Better people.

How do these sound as resolutions?

I resolve to…call my mom more often. It probably would not kill me to call her more than once a week, right?

I resolve to…volunteer for two hours on Sundays at a local animal shelter/homeless shelter/food kitchen. Think of how much good we could collectively be doing if we all did just a LITTLE.

I resolve to…call people out EVERY time they make a homophobic comment.

I resolve to…compliment a little girl on how smart she is, instead of how pretty she is

I resolve to…apologize more when I mess up

I resolve to…take The Radical Idea Challenge (on our Tumblr) to go 24 hours without obsessing over relationship drama and just focus on myself and my friends

I resolve to…make girls’ night a more regular occurrence

I resolve to…be a better listener, someone my friends know they can share ANYTHING with without judgment

Not all of these are my personal New Year’s Resolutions, but they could be yours. Don’t see yourself pledging any of those things? That’s okay too. Send us your New Years Resolutions at RadicalButLogical@gmail.com

My point here is that no matter WHAT it is you think you need to work on—whether it’s your relationships with friends or family, your work ethic (I probably need to make a resolution to study for my GRE more), or what you do in your spare time—don’t focus on how you look this year. Do things because they’re healthy, not because of what you think people will say: you might find that the more comfortable you are in your own skin, the more people won’t really care about what your stupid scale says.

And hey, unless you’ve resolved to fib less, you can always just say that scale is miscalibrated anyway.

~ by Randi Saunders on December 31, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
